# MINUTES OF THE ORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING OF THE MUSWELLBROOK SHIRE COUNCIL HELD IN MUSWELLBROOK REGIONAL ARTS CENTRE, BRIDGE STREET, MUSWELLBROOK ON FRIDAY 11 OCTOBER 2024 COMMENCING AT 6.30PM

PRESENT: Mr D. Finnigan (General Manager & Chair) Cr J. Drayton (Mayor),

Cr C. Bailey, Cr A. Barry, Cr D. Douglas OAM, Cr L. Dunn, Cr D. Hartley, Cr G.T. McNeill, Cr R. Mahajan, Cr D.E. Marshall,

Cr M. Morris, Cr R. Scholes and Cr S. Ward.

**IN ATTENDANCE:** Ms S. Pope (Director – Planning & Environment), Ms S. Welchman

(Director - Community & Economy), Mr M. Lysaught (Director - Infrastructure & Property), Mr P. Chambers (Chief Engineer), Ms K. Hamm (Manager - Governance & Risk), Ms A. Hathway

(Legal Counsel), Mr J. Hogan (Chief Financial Officer),

Mrs C. Middleton (Communications Co-Ordinator), Mrs M. Sandell-Hay (Governance Officer), Ms J. Fernandes (EA to the Mayor & GM),

Ms A. Cox (IP&R Officer) and 17 people in the public gallery.

## 1. Acknowledgement of Country

The Acknowledgement of Country was read by Cr Douglas.

## 2. Civic Prayer

The Civic Prayer was read by Dunn.

# 3. Apologies and Applications for a Leave of Absence by Councillors

Nil

#### 4. Business

#### 4.1 Election of Mayor & Deputy Mayor

69 RESOLVED on the motion of Cr Scholes and Cr Marshall that:

Council resolves to conduct an election for the position of Mayor and Deputy

Mayor by Open vote – by a show of hands.

In Favour Cr C. Bailey, Cr A. Barry, Cr D. Douglas, Cr J. Drayton, Cr L. Dunn,

Cr D. Hartley, Cr R. Mahajan, Cr D. Marshall, Cr G. McNeill, Cr M. Morris,

Cr R. Scholes and Cr S. Ward.

Against: Nil

#### **Election of Mayor**

Nominations were invited for the office of Mayor for the ensuing term.

The Returning Officer reported that two (2) nominations for the Office of Mayor had been received.

The written nominations were for:

- i Cr Jeff Drayton proposed by Crs Douglas, Scholes and Dunn.
- ii Cr Graeme McNeill proposed by Crs Barry, Marshall and Mahajan.



The Returning Officer reported that Cr Drayton and Cr McNeill had indicated their consent to the nomination.

The Returning Officer called for further nominations to be made, first call was made, followed by the second call and then finally the third call. No further nominations were received.

There being more than one nomination for the Office of Mayor, the Returning Officer indicated that an election would be conducted.

The voting resulted in nine (9) votes for Cr Drayton and three (3) votes for Cr McNeill.

The Returning Officer declared Cr Jeff Drayton duly elected to the Office of Mayor of the Muswellbrook Shire Council for the ensuing two year term to September, 2026.

#### **Election of Deputy Mayor**

Nominations were invited for the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing term.

The Returning Office reported that two (2) nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor had been received.

The written nominations were for:

- i) Cr De-anne Douglas proposed by Crs Scholes, Drayton and Dunn
- ii) Cr Darryl Marshall proposed by Crs Barry, McNeill and Mahajan.

The Returning Officer reported that Cr Douglas and Cr Marshall had indicated their consent to the nomination.

The Returning Officer called for further nominations to be made, first call was made, followed by the second call and then finally the third call. No further nominations were received.

There being more than one nomination for the Office of Deputy Mayor, the Returning Officer indicated that an election would be conducted.

The voting resulted in nine (9) votes for Cr Douglas and three (3) votes for Cr Marshall.

The Returning Officer declared Cr De-anne Douglas duly elected as Deputy Mayor of the Muswellbrook Shire Council for the ensuing two year term to September, 2026.

Cr Drayton thanked Councillors for their support.

Cr Douglas thanked Councillors for their support

#### 5. Closure

The meeting was declared closed at 6.40pm.

THE MINUTES OF THE MEETING (PAGES 1 to 2) WERE CONFIRMED AT THE ORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING OF THE MUSWELLBROOK SHIRE COUNCIL HELD ON 26 NOVEMBER, 2024 AND ARE A FULL AND ACCURATE RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE MEETING HELD ON FRIDAY 11 OCTOBER 2024.

Mr D. Finnigan	
General Manager / Chair	